Author Interview – Michele Kimbrough

Image of Michele Kimbrough

Did you learn anything from writing this book and what was it?

Yes. I need to devise a writing regimen. I wasn’t a disciplined writer.  I don’t write on a full-time basis. I write in addition to maintaining a full time job, being a mom, and at one point, I was a student while writing Prudence.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Hens will return to roost. Whatever we put out into the world affects the people whose lives we touch and at some point it comes back to us.

How important do you think villains are in a story?

I think antagonists are an integral part of making the story interesting or intense. Without an antagonist, the story can seem dull.

Who is your favorite author and why?

Right now and for the past several years, Joseph Finder has been my favorite thriller author. I like the subject matter, first of all, which is corporate espionage. Secondly, he does a fabulous job of setting up the story, creating tension and making me feel like I’m in the story, like I’m running beside the protagonist.

Can we expect any more books from you in the future?

Absolutely. I hope to write books until I draw my last breath.

Have you started another book yet?

Yes. Right now, it’s called Wildflower (inspired by the song of the same name by Skylark). It’s a follow up to my current book, Prudence.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

Lying on a beach with laptop in hand, writing a novel oceanside.

Are you reading any interesting books at the moment?

I just finished reading Jackie Collins’ Poor Little Bitch Girl. Loved it.

What contributes to making a writer successful?

Readers.

Do you have any advice for writers?

Do you. Don’t do somebody else — they’ve already been done. Of course you have people who inspire you but when it comes to creating your masterpiece, it should be from your own creative genius, not someone else’s. Certainly Picasso didn’t paint like Van Gogh or Monet like Da Vinci. They each had their own style that’s distinctly theirs. I think writers should be the same way.

Do you have any specific last thoughts that you want to say to your readers?

I hope you enjoy my stories and continue to read them as I continue to write them.

If you could leave your readers with one bit of wisdom, what would you want it to be?

Writers love when you enjoy their characters. We spend so much time getting to know these characters that they become very personal for us. When you tell us how they made you feel, we love it — well, I should say, I love it.

Prudence

Things aren’t always as they seem.

Attorney, Prudence Payne, seems to have it all: beauty, intelligence, love and a sure path to making partner with her law firm. The reality is her boyfriend, James, is unable to commit. She’s dealing with recently revealed family secrets and lies. And, she’s doing it all without her best friend who died a year ago.

Richard Mayweather is a single father raising two daughters. He’s been in love with Prudence since they were tweens, and now he thinks it’s time that she knows it. But when James decides to finally commit, is it too late for Richard? Or will Prudence realize, at last, that the love she’s always searched for has been right in front of her the whole time?

Buy Now @ Amazon

Genre – Romance, Interracial

Rating – PG13

More details about the author

Connect with Michele Kimbrough on Facebook

Leave a Reply

